Asian Watcher: Sophie’s Revenge

Let’s watch!

If you have been following I Eat Spicy Noodles, you would know that for a Featured Asian edition, I featured the charming Zhang Ziyi (read post here). Today in Asian Watcher, I would be featuring one of her movies, Sophie’s Revenge. 

Sophie’s Revenge is a really cool movie. Zhang Ziyi is really cool, composed and serious in her Hollywood movies, so I think Sophie’s Revenge is a movie that shows how versatile of an actress she is.

Image from http://www.pixel-dust.com/?p=1859

Movie Title: Sophie’s Revenge

Language: Mandarin

Actors: Zhang Ziyi (Sophie), So Ji Sub (Jeff), Peter Ho (Gordon), Fan Bing Bing (Anna)

Directed by: Eva Jin 

Year of release: 2009

I just love this movie. I am not fond of romantic Hollywood movies, but when it comes to Asian love stories, I could not help but watch. It might be because I am Asian as well, and I can very much relate to certain cultures in Asia.

Sophie’s Revenge, as the title would suggest, is about Sophie (Zhang Ziyi) wanting to take revenge. Her fiancé Jeff (So Ji Sub) dumped her before their wedding, and had a relationship with the actress Anna (Fan Bingbing). Sophie then tried to get revenge, and wanted to get Jeff back, so she analyzed the situation and came up with various plans to get him back. She ran across Jeff and Anna at a party, where she also met Gordon, who was supposed to have also been dumped by Anna. She persuades him to help her get revenge. In the process, Gordon falls in love with Sophie. 

During the last portions of the movie, it Gordon refuses to help Sophie because he wanted her to notice him instead. Jeff is persuaded and wanted Sophie back, and it makes Sophie confused because she may already have feelings for Gordon too. A shocking revelation happens – Anna is not actually Gordon’s ex-girlfriend, but his sister. Will Sophie have the happy ever after she wants? I suggest you watch.

I did not know that a Youtube member has all the cuts of the movies with English subtitles until today. Because I want to share them with you, I will be posting the links of the videos below. I hope you like them. 

That’s it for this edition of Asian Watchers. If there’s a movie, video or series, you want me to review for Asian Watchers, comment down below. Don’t forget to subscribe to I Eat Spicy Noodles for more Asian stuff. Please like the official Facebook page, and also follow me on Twitter if you can.

Catch you guys later!

© 2011 ieatspicynoodles.wordpress.com * images and videos do not belong to me

Posted on 27 December 2011, in Asian Watcher, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

