Project 52: Otaku Girl (Episode 8)

OMG. I am so sorry you guys. I have been so busy with school work and stuff that I was not able to write about the stuff I had last week and Episode 9 will be delayed as well. 

I did manage to finish up some stuff. I just did not have the time and energy to write them. I am still recovering from the extremely tiring work I did for the department event we had last Wednesday. I got tired, but it was a lot of fun. It’s not Otaku related though. I kind of wished it was. Then I would not really mind being a slave. LOL

This week’s stuff:

1. MANGA: Fruits Basket

2. JDRAMA: Erai Tokoro ni Totsuide Shimatta

3. ANIME: Fairy Tail (episodes 48 onwards)

4. SONG/VIDEO: Season – Dream Live 3 (Tenimyu) by Hyotei Gakuen Actors

MANGA

I finally gave up on Vampire Knight. I guess it’s really a great manga, but the scanlations were so bad, I could not understand a thing. If you guys know of better scanlations than what realitylapse provide, please let me know. The good news though is that I finally resolved myself to download the Vampire Knight series. That is, when I finished downloading 120 episodes of Fairy Tail (don’t worry, I have to download about 5-6 episodes more)

Image from http://riceballinabasketoffruit.tumblr.com/

I love Fruits Basket! I loved the original anime when it was shown in the Philippines a few years back. I never got the chance to finish it though because the channel decided to stop airing it about halfway through. 

I love the manga, and I have been reading this for weeks now. There’s not a lot – about 26 volumes in all, but knowing the TV hoarder that I am, I have no choice but to set aside the littlest amount of time for manga. I can pretty much finish an 11-episode Jdrama in two day’s time (which in actuality is around 5-8 hours only, coz I skip the opening songs and whatnot), so I don’t have as much for mangas lately. That’s about to change next week, since I am almost done with all 120 episodes of Fairy Tail available. And yes, I did not just download them, I watched them all. 

Anyway, this manga is Shoujo. It’s absolutely interesting! The story is about Tohru, a girl whose mom died so she was looking for a place to stay. At first she camps out the woods. Because of an earthquake/landslide incidence, the Souma family who owns the forest land, decided to adopt her. But there’s a problem. Men in the Souma family (well, most of them at least) are under the zodiac curse. When women hug them, they turn into their zodiac animal counterparts. 

Even if I haven’t finished the entirety of the manga, I know this is just going to be great. 

THE VERDICT: Highly recommended

JDRAMA

Image from http://wiki.d-addicts.com/Erai_Tokoro_ni_Totsuide_Shimatta!

 Nakama Yukie is one of my favorite actresses. If you are a fan of mainstream Jdramasa, you would recognize her as the lead in the Gokusen series. I’ve seen her Ring-O: Birthday as well where she played Sadako, and she’s a very well-rounded actress I think.

In this story, she plays Kimiko Makimura, later Kimiko Yamamoto, a girl who married Isojirou Yamamoto. She was brought to the house of Yamamoto where she is surprised about a lot of Japanese traditions she had to encounter. Above all that, her mother in law is very misunderstanding. She does not understand that Kimiko hates their traditions and way of life, and thinks of it as a way of Kimiko trying her best to learn their ways. Kimiko also does not notice, but even if she hated the traditions, she enjoyed being in the company of family.

THE VERDICT: I’ll tell you in Episode 9. This is a beautiful Jdrama though. If you want to learn more about traditional marriage arrangements as well as other common traditions in Japan, you would learn a lot from this drama.

ANIME

What can I say? Fairy Tail is my favorite drama this week, last week, and probably for another month. I even took screenshots while watching. I’m thinking of compiling them into an album. What do you guys think?

THE VERDICT: Recommended to the Infinite-st level!

SONG/VIDEO

Although it’s not the anime version, I really love this song from the live action version of Prince of Tennis. There’s about 7 Dream Live Concerts, and this is the only one I watched. Anyway, this has the best actors in all Dream Live Concerts because the characters were really portrayed well.

I don’t think anyone is allowed to play Atobe other than Kazuki-kun.

This song is very beautiful. Suteki~

THE VERDICT: Love it. Absolutely. The other songs from Hyotei are absolutely amazing as well!

That’s it for Episode 8. Please watch out for Episode 9 tomorrow and Episode 10 sometime next week. I will do my best to catch up to all writing. Please watch out because I will try to be really active this week.

Andy-chan :3

© 2012 ieatspicynoodles.wordpress.com * All images have links * Fairy Tail image my screenshot while watching

Posted on 9 March 2012, in Project 52 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

